Office of Career Services

Music Resources

American Federation of Musicians www.afm.org - The largest organization in the world representing the interests of professional musicians.

American Guild of Musical Artists www.musicalartists.org - Labor organization that represents the men and women who create America’s operatic, choral and dance heritage.

American Music Therapy Association www.musictherapy.org/about/musictherapy/ - This site provides answers to many questions raised by students considering a career in art and music therapy.

American Society of Composers, Authors, & Publishers http://www.ascap.com/music-career/ - Career development advice from the ASCAP, a membership association for composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music.

Art Deadlines List http://artdeadlineslist.com/ - The master list of competitions, calls for entries, job announcements, grants, scholarships, and more for visual and performing artists. Several subscription options available, all of them reasonable.

Association of Music Producers http://www.ampnow.com/index.php/members/ - A group founded for the purpose of gathering and sharing information on all aspects of music production and the music business.

Austin Live Music http://www.austinlivemusic.com/ - Lists events, performances, and reviews in the Live Music Capital of the World!

Austin Music Hall http://www.austinmusichall.com/ - The Austin Music Hall is a venue for popular bands.

The Austin Symphony www.austinsymphony.org/ -The Austin Symphony Orchestra is Austin’s oldest performing arts group. It offers a complete season of musical and educational programming.

Bridge: Worldwide Music Connection https://www.myinterfase.com/nec/student/ - Offered by the New England Conservatory; search for full- and part-time jobs, internships, grants and more. Jobs are in music performance, teaching and arts administration. Current students may receive name and password information to access this site by contacting Career Services at (512) 863-1346, stopping by our office or emailing us at career.services@southwestern.edu.

Career Guide for Music Majors http://www.utexas.edu/cofa/career/media/musicguide.pdf - Career Guide from UT Austin; includes information and internet links for music majors.

Career Planning Links http://www.uncw.edu/career/music.html - List of career titles, job and internship search links, and professional association links from the University of North Carolina.

ClassicWeb http://www.classicweb.com/links/ - This site provides links to orchestra positions domestically and internationally.

Delta Omicron International, Music Fraternity www.delta-omicron.org - National music fraternity. The SU chapter is Delta Nu.

Dos and Don’ts For Audio and Other Music Oriented Interns http://www.musicbizacademy.com/knab/articles/interns.htm –-Advice about “How to Impress Your Internship Employer and Become Successful in the Recording Industry,” by Christopher Knab

Ehow.com offers advice for many careers in the music industry. The example used below is that of a radio jockey. http://www.ehow.com/how_7988_become-radio-disc.html

Entertainment Careers http://www.entertainmentcareers.net/jcat.asp?jcat=119 - Listing of jobs in the entertainment industry for those with a background in music

Festival Finder http://www.festivalfinder.com/ - This site offers advice about and information to locate music festivals

Gig Masters http://www.gigmasters.com/ This site offers event entertainment planning. It gives opportunities to bands, DJs, soloists, ensembles, and more

Graduate Programs in Musicology http://www.ams-net.org/gradprog.php - List of links of schools offering graduate programs in musicology; the AMS website also has a list of ongoing grants and fellowships http://www.ams-net.org/grants.php.

International Computer Music Association www.computermusic.org - An international affiliation of individuals and institutions involved in the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music

Jobs at Spin Magazine http://www.spin.com/jobs - Spin is a cutting-edge music magazine offering internships as well as full-time jobs for people interested in music journalism

Music and Entertainment Industry Student Association MEISA http://www.meisa.org/ - The student organization of MEIEA http://www.meiea.org/, the Music and Entertainment Industry Educators Association

Music Industry Career Center www.music-careers.com - Post your resume and search for a variety of jobs in the music field

Music Jobs www.music-jobs.com – Job postings for the US, UK, Germany, and Brazil

Music Library Association http://musiclibraryassoc.org/employment.aspx?id=75 - Career resources for those interested in music librarianship. Includes links to other helpful sites

Musical Associations and Professional Societies http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/societ.html - William and Gayle Cook Music Library in the Indiana University School of Music produce this terrific list of worldwide internet music resources; over 200 links!

Musicians http://www.princetonreview.com/Careers.aspx?cid=98 - The Princeton Review’s overview of the career of a musician.

Musicians Page http://www.musicianspage.com/ - Are you a musician, a music teacher or simply a music lover? Are you part of a band, ensemble or group? Are you looking for musicians as an agent, a company or an individual or for a job? This is the right place for you.

Musicians, Singers, and Other Performers http://stats.bls.gov/oco/ocos095.htm - Department of Labor’s Occupational Outlook Handbook contains job descriptions, salary, job outlook, and educational requirements

My Music Job http://www.mymusicjob.com/search.php?search=job - Search for a variety of jobs in the music field such as DJs, musicians, bands, instrument repairs, and engineers

National Association for Music Education http://www.nafme.org/ - This site has information for teachers, job postings, and a great guide to various careers in music

Opera America http://www.operaamerica.org/ -Service organization for professionals in the opera field.

Production Music Association www.pmamusic.com - Association for publishers and composers of production music to promote and protect the interests and rights of our community

Rising Star Internships in Music http://www.rsinternships.com/applications/job_sectors.php3?sector=MUSIC - Rising Star offers information about continuous internships nationally and internationally

Songwriters Guild of America www.songwritersguild.com - Advocacy group for songwriters

Texas Cultural & Arts Network /Texas Commission on the Arts  http://www.arts.state.tx.us/index.php?option=com_jobline&type=2&Itemid=117 - Find internships, job listings and training at this site

Texas Music Office http://www.governor.state.tx.us/music - A state agency, the TMO is a clearing-house of music and music-related industry information. They also sponsor internships!

U.S. Navy Music Program: www.npc.navy.mil/CommandSupport/NavyMusic - Information about the US Navy Music Program

Warner Brothers, Careers www.warnerbroscareers.com - Career opportunities at Warner Brothers

Women in Music http://www.womeninmusic.org/ - Network for women in music offers a career section with resources for a variety of careers, including performance, songwriting, music production, and film scoring