The Association of Southwestern University Alumni

Alumni Council

About the Alumni Council

The Alumni Council consists of 16 positions. The current Alumni Council has 17 members, as one of the At-large positions is shared by an alumni couple. The Association of Southwestern University Alumni Constitution says the Alumni Council “coordinates activities of The Association and unites the alumni base” (Article II - Governance). 


Nominations for the Alumni Council

Any member of The Association (alumni who have completed 24 credit hours or more) or a member of the Southwestern University faculty or staff may submit a nomination for the Alumni Council. Nominations are collected at all times and reviewed by The Association’s Awards and Nominations Committee. The committee presents a slate to Alumni Assembly Delegates for voting. Once votes are collected and tallied, members of the Alumni Council begin their work for a two-year term. 

If you would like to nominate an alumnus/a for an Alumni Council position (including self-nominations), contact the Office of University Relations - Alumni and Parents with the individual’s name, class year and a brief explanation of your nomination. 



President: Blake Stanford ’81 (Austin, Texas)

President-Elect: Daryl Allen ’93 (Houston, Texas)

Class Relations Chair: Hector Ruiz  ’10 (Brownsville, Texas)

Nominations and Awards Chair: Ed Ellis ’64 (Round Top, Texas)

Homecoming and Reunions Chair: Susan Peace Holley ’73 (Austin, Texas)

Local Associations Chair: Tim Trevino ’93 (San Antonio, Texas)

Alumni Connection Groups Chair: Harland DeWitt ’92 (Houston, Texas)

Assembly Program Chair: Yesenia Garcia ’03 (Austin, Texas)

Assembly Program Chair-Elect: Marisela Trevino Orta ’99 (San Francisco, California)

Alumni Communications Chair: Ebony Rose ’02 (Fort Worth, Texas)

Lifelong Learning Chair: Cynthia Olson Bourland ’89 (Round Rock, Texas)

At-Large Member: Chris Cragg ’83 (Houston, Texas)

At-Large Member: Matt and Donna Carter Worley, both ’80 (Round Rock, Texas)

Trustee Representative: Pam Slaughter Bush ’76 (Dallas, Texas)

Annual Giving Board President (ex efficio): Karen Hanson-Flowers ’75 (West University, Texas)

Student Representative: Sarah Puffer ’14 (Porter, Texas)